Sights of Everyday Life – Part Three

Dear Friends,

This is the third of a series of posts centering on sights I see daily as part of every day life here in Nairobi. As I have walked around the city taking these photos I have continued to experience the culture of Nairobi and the people who live and work here. My hope is that by sharing these photos you might see through my camera lens what I am experiencing in this interesting and fascinating part of the world that God loves.

scafolding blog2scafolding blog1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Scaffolding- This is one of the scenes that Terry drives by on his way to the hanger. It is a group of logs tied together. When looking at this scaffolding I wonder if I would be brave enough to step on to it. Not that I have a fear of heights but I do have a fear of unstable ground that may or may not hold me.

 

newspaper blog

Newspapers- I see newspaper stands and people reading newspapers throughout Nairobi. In the United States newspapers have become blase but here they are still considered the best way to get up to date news. I have been told that news worthy events are in the papers before announced on TV or other media. The cost of a paper is 60 shillings or 60 cents, even the Sunday paper.

corn blog

Corn- Sprinkled along side of the roads are men and women selling roasted corn, called maize. I have yet to try it but Terry says it is tough without much taste. The cost is 40 shillings or .40 cents. for a whole one and 20 shillings or 20 cents for half.

clothes blog

Clothes- Used clothes are sold every where or so it seems. Interestingly, the prices are more expensive then what I would pay back in the United States if I went to a Thrift Store, Garage Sale or even Walmart.

 

sign blog x2 (800x522)

Sign- These words have been painted like graffiti on a wall alongside a main highway. The words painted in white read “Better City, Better Life” and the words painted in blue read “Kibera talking”. Kibera is the biggest slum in Africa and one of the biggest in the world.

May the Lord bless you and keep you.

Until next letter,

Laurie

“And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.”

Romans 8:28

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

